Picture
I wanted to get away from the busy city of Bangkok and the 14 million people living in it. I wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle and see what it's really like out in the country side of Thailand. So what do we go and do? Hire a driver of course. How far did I have to drive to see a village and the country side you ask? Only a long 4 hours. And boy was it long. First, it was a long ride to God knows where, about 2.5 hours or so, and then hopped a train at the Kwai River. Speaking of, has anyone ever watched the old movie called "The Bridge On The River Kwai?" It is a WW2 movie from the 50's. If I remember correctly, William Holden was in it. Well, that was one of my stops today. It is where the movie was filmed. If you look at the photo above, that was way back when. Here's now.

Pretty huh? And yes, you probably guessed it..I caught the next train. Let me show you a few things I found along the way. The first thing I want to show you is the ribbon tree. It was right before getting on the train. People put scarves and ribbons all around it. I thought it was very beautiful. And what a way to dress up a tree! :)
Now enjoy the scenery.
This is the train I am on. It took everything I had to hang out my train window, over a cliff to get this photo!
Kwai River
This mother was selling little items to try and make money while her sweet little baby took a nap.
This is a photo of one of the MANY monks you'll see in Thailand.
This was one of the very nice homes.
This was the most adorable little boy. He was outside helping his mom pick up.
This makes me never want to complain again..These people owned elephants. I got to ride them and feed them bananas. This is the buddy I made. His name is Shimmy.
This sweet boy LOVED to give me kisses. He would even make a kissing sound with his trunk. (See photo below) Then he would wrap his trunk around me like he was giving me a big bear hug. He must know I LOVE big bear hugs.
Shimmy was nice enough to share his kisses with Billy too!
I hope you all enjoyed the photos as much as I did taking them. I hope these photos have touched you like seeing this stuff in person touched me. Some of the things that I have seen today have forever touched me. They make me so thankful that my child has a place to sleep at night. In an air conditioned home with a roof. Air condition is the least of their problems. Sometimes we lose sight of the important things and the blessings that are given to us. Today has been an eye opener and I will always remember it.
Anastasiya Heim
10/10/2013 08:06:47 am

Beautiful pictures! Im so glad that you are documenting all of this! What great memories you will have! We were on that bridge! and The pictures of the elefants are amazing! Praying for you guys!

Reply



Leave a Reply.